Best AI Receptionist for Locksmiths
Locksmith calls are often urgent: someone is locked out of a car or a house, or a door will not lock after a break-in, and you are on another job. Here is how four AI receptionist options compare for locksmiths. We have not hands-on tested these products. Everything below comes from vendor pages, linked inline. Checked Nov 2, 2026.
Short answer
If you mostly need nights and weekends covered, Odile After Hours is built for that: $199 per month for 400 answered calls, free until it books your first job, and if it books nothing in 30 days you pay nothing (Odile pricing). Its Solo plan is $29 per month for up to 40 calls, with the first 14 days free. If you want an all-day receptionist with calendar booking and live transfers, Rosie starts at $49 per month for 250 minutes and adds calendar booking plus warm and live transfers on its $149 Scale plan (Rosie pricing). If many of your callers ring more than once, Goodcall bills per unique customer instead of per minute, from $79 per month for 100 unique customers (Goodcall pricing). If you already run your business in Workiz, ask about Genius Answering, which needs a Genius Phone plan and a number ported into Workiz (Workiz Genius Answering FAQ).
| Rosie | Odile After Hours | Goodcall | Workiz Genius Answering | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published entry price | $49/mo, 250 min (Professional) | $29/mo for up to 40 calls (Solo); $199/mo for 400 answered calls | $79/mo for 100 unique customers, then 79 cents each (Starter) | No dollar prices on the plans page; needs a Genius Phone plan |
| Lockouts and break-ins | Flags lockouts as urgent and notifies you right away; warm and live transfers on Scale ($149) | Marks unsafe lockouts and break-ins with a door that will not lock as URGENT; tells callers to call 911 first if anyone is still on scene | Transfers are part of call handling; you choose who receives them | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Intake questions | Custom questions such as lock type (deadbolt, smart lock, mortice) or vehicle make and model | Takes the job details and texts them to you | Set up as "workers" inside your agent; Starter includes 5 workers and 1 external tool | Can create jobs and reschedule for verified clients |
| Prices and call-out fees | Can confirm your coverage area and call-out fees; pricing estimates on Growth ($299) | Does not quote prices you did not give it; does not dispatch | Not stated on the page we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Booking | Text booking links on Professional; calendar booking on Scale and up | Google Calendar, Square Appointments or its built-in calendar | Booking is set up as a worker | Creates jobs inside Workiz |
| Keep your number | Forward your existing number | Answers in two rings on your existing number | Keep your number by forwarding | Number must be ported into Workiz |
| Languages | English and Spanish on every call | 32 languages | Not stated on the page we checked | English and Spanish (FAQ); the plans page also lists French |
| Sources | Rosie pricing, Rosie locksmith page | Odile pricing, Odile locksmith page | Goodcall pricing | Workiz plans page, Workiz Genius Answering FAQ, Workiz usage help article |
| Check Rosie | Check Odile | Check Goodcall | Check Workiz |
Night calls are where locksmiths lose jobs
A locked-out caller who gets voicemail can simply call the next locksmith on the list, so after-hours coverage deserves a close look. Odile is priced around after-hours answering: it says it answers in two rings on your existing number, texts you the job, and marks the dangerous calls as URGENT (Odile locksmith page). Its Instant Callback feature is not included in Solo (Odile pricing). Yearly billing is $1,990, or $290 for Solo (Odile pricing). Rosie bills by minutes used, offers a 7-day free trial, and says annual billing gives 2 months free (Rosie pricing).
How Workiz counts usage
Workiz says Genius Answering usage is counted per conversation, for calls of 20 seconds or longer, plus phone minutes, and that each agent handles one call at a time (Workiz usage help article). Ask Workiz what that means at your call volume, and whether you need more than one agent for busy nights, before you port your number.
What to look for
- Safety first. A caller locked out with someone unsafe nearby needs to hear "call 911" before anything else. Odile says it does this (Odile locksmith page). Whatever tool you pick, write that rule into its instructions.
- The right intake questions. Rosie says it can ask about lock type and vehicle make and model (Rosie locksmith page). Decide what you need before you roll: address, car or building, lock type, and proof the caller lives there or owns the car.
- Fees you approve. Only let the AI state call-out fees you have written down. Rosie says it can confirm them (Rosie locksmith page); Odile says it will not quote prices you did not give it (Odile locksmith page).
- Price by calls, not minutes. Odile counts answered calls, Goodcall counts unique customers, and Rosie counts minutes. A caller who phones three times to ask "how far away are you?" costs very different amounts on each.
- Spam. Rosie lists spam detection (Rosie pricing), and Goodcall says spam and wrong numbers do not count toward usage (Goodcall pricing).
Not sure an AI receptionist pays for itself? Run the missed-call calculator with your own numbers first.
FAQ
Can an AI receptionist tell a lockout from a routine rekey call?
The tools we checked say they can flag urgency. Rosie says it flags lockouts as urgent and notifies you right away (Rosie locksmith page). Odile says it marks a lockout with someone unsafe outside, or a break-in with a door that will not lock, as URGENT, and tells callers to call 911 first if anyone is still on scene (Odile locksmith page). Write your own rules for what counts as urgent before you turn either one on.
Will an AI receptionist quote my prices?
Only what you give it. Rosie says it can confirm your service area and call-out fees (Rosie locksmith page), and pricing estimates are listed on its $299 Growth plan (Rosie pricing). Odile says it does not quote prices you did not give it (Odile locksmith page).
What is the cheapest option for a solo locksmith?
On the pages we checked, Odile Solo is $29 per month for up to 40 calls, with the first 14 days free (Odile pricing). Rosie Professional is $49 per month for 250 minutes (Rosie pricing). Goodcall Starter is $79 per month for 100 unique customers (Goodcall pricing).
Does Workiz have its own AI answering?
Yes. Workiz Genius Answering needs a Genius Phone plan and a phone number ported into Workiz (Workiz Genius Answering FAQ). Workiz does not publish dollar prices on its plans page, so ask for a quote (Workiz plans page).
Did AnswerVerdict test these?
No. This guide compares published information only. Rosie and Odile Labs are affiliate partners; we earn nothing from Goodcall or Workiz. Confirm current prices and features on each vendor's site before buying.
More quick answers
How much does an AI receptionist cost per month? | Can an AI receptionist book jobs into Jobber? | Is an AI receptionist worth it for a 1-truck plumber? | AI receptionist vs answering service cost
More free tools
AI receptionist vs hiring calculator | Which AI receptionist should I pick? | AI Receptionist Pricing Study 2026 | Best AI receptionist for pest control